Balancing Act: Striking the Right Harmony Between Worldly Ambitions and Spiritual Needs

Each person must find their own balance point between pursing worldly goals and finding inner peace.

Anatta
3 min readApr 11, 2024

My apologies for the slow pace of new posts lately. I haven’t lost my enthusiasm, nor have I run out of material. Over the last three weeks, my life circumstances made it necessary to focus on worldly matters.

I could have made other choices. However, the consequences of inaction or inattention would have been more than I wanted to endure.

Sometimes, I wish I were a monk, only concerned about my robe and my begging bowl.

Balance or One-Sided?

Worldly ambitions and spiritual goals rarely align. Most spiritual practices seek to quiet the mind and increase empathy and caring for others. Most worldly pursuits seek to engage the mind and increase selfishness and personal pleasure.

When you lead a spirit-centered life, you often feel like you are swimming upstream, counter to the news and trends in society.

It’s helpful to visualize spiritual practices and worldly pursuits as a continuum with purity on either extreme. Each person must find a balance point somewhere on this…

--

--

Anatta

Buddhist practitioner and writer. My autistic son is the focus of my spiritual practice. He inspires me with his love and companionship.