Tibetan Buddhist Lamrim: The Disadvantages of Self-Cherishing

Chasing individual happiness through selfish means always leads to unhappiness and dissatisfaction.

Anatta
7 min readMar 2, 2024

The Primordial Error

When I first came into existence as pure, aware consciousness, there was just observation.

In the first moment of self-awareness, consciousness observes itself and realizes, “I exist.” Buddhists call this the primordial error.

In the next moment comes the feeling, “I am important.”

And with it, we give birth to Selfish Desire, my instinct to survive, and other primal forces needed for individual survival.

While this boot-up sequence and deeply instinctual belief is essential for survival, it’s detrimental to happiness as it causes all of us to cherish ourselves and our desires above all other concerns.

Self Cherishing

Self-cherishing refers to the self-centered attitude that prioritizes one’s own well-being and desires over the welfare of others.

--

--

Anatta

Buddhist practitioner and writer. My autistic son is the focus of my spiritual practice. He inspires me with his love and companionship.